I forgot to share my latest class project! The brief was to create a soft sculpture based on our theme. I chose to use the cycle of life through nature and to show it using a tree.

I sketched a rough idea of a single tree going through all four seasons and got to work.

I had an old mug tree, so decided to cover it in cotton yarn using colours particular to each season.

After completing that I added more branches using wooden craft sticks and more yarn. I also made a crochet chain and glued it around the base to simulate the brown earth.

Now that I feel the basic structure is completed I can get on with making it look like a tree and a bit less like a phallic type sculpture. Hehe
I’ve added quite a bit since that last photo earlier today, but will wait until tomorrow afternoon once I’ve presented the finished sculpture to my class to share what I’ve done. I just hope I get it finished!

Stay tuned!!

Leave a Reply

