Bermuda Textile Art

I’ve been so busy with college and life in general that I keep forgetting to post my projects on my blog.
My last project was a lot of fun and I’m really, really proud of it.

Our brief was freedom this time, freedom to choose what we wanted to make using our choice of media. I chose to use textiles of course, with a touch of water color painting to create a cushion.

I decided to create something to remind me of back home. I got an aerial image of Bermuda off the Internet, sketched a basic beach scene on the fabric with Bermuda at the center. I painted it all in but wasn’t quite happy with the colours.

So I decided to cover it up with small bits of fabric I’d cut up in various colours to represent the pink sand, blue sea and cliffs on the sides. It was very time consuming to hand stitch each one on individually, but very cathartic as well.

Since the Bermuda flag is mainly red and I needed it to stand out the most, I of course went with red. Then I machine stitched around it using freehand embroidery with my new embroidery foot which helps me to stitch in ways I never thought possible. So awesome! !

I still wanted to have painting included in the project somehow since its one of the things I’ve learned during this course, so I dyed and painted the backing fabric with watercolours. I had a lot of fun making a colourful mess. Lol

I stitched the front and back pieces together, stuffed it with bits of scrap yarn that I have a small mountain of and hand stitched the opening closed

Done!! I learned a few new techniques, created something I never thought I’d ever be able to accomplish and am really proud of myself. I really enjoyed this and am already planning what will come next.

My next and final project, which has just started has a much longer time frame to accomplish it. So I’m going to make something much bigger using the same techniques I used for the cushion. I plan to make a wall hanging, but this time it will be of my current home, Scotland.

It’s not due for a few months, so I’ll make sure I document my progress and any changes to my initial plan. I’m excited! ! ☺

Leave a Reply

