I made another travelers notebook (fauxdori).
I may have an obsession.
It’s just that I’m not 100% happy with my last one.

Using the adhesive spray to fuse the layers together seemed like an ok idea, but eventually it started to come apart. Last night was when I noticed it, so I immediately decided to do something about it. I was going to just stitch around the edge, but then I saw an old tote bag I no longer use and my wheels started turning.
A little over an hour later I had another notebook cover and extra tote bag fabric left over! πŸ˜†πŸ˜† (Don’t worry, I’ll still fix the other notebook.)

This one was made using fabric, interfacing and a small amount of faux leather. I edge stitched around the whole thing twice to keep it together and I put one row of stitching down the center. I was too sleepy to worry about using bias binding or stitching it with the right sides together and then turning it out. πŸ˜•

It has 2 pockets and a large pen loop that holds 2 pens. It has 4 elastics which I’m trying to stick to because I have a tendency to pack too much into the notebook. I used eyelets again for the holes which still don’t look right on the inside. I almost cut myself on the sharp edges. What am I doing wrong!?

I threaded some beads from an old bracelet onto the elastic closure and that’s that!
I’m pleased with the way it came out and love the print.

After seeing lots of people make fabric notebooks with unfinished edges to encourage fraying, I figured I’d try it out.

Who am I kidding?! Fraying would bug the heck outta me!! I’d just keep pruning it with my little scissors to get rid of the threads. πŸ˜•

So I probably used about a bottle of fray check on the edges.
No exaggeration. Next time I’ll just use the turning out method for cleaner edges.

Anyway, I’m happy.. er.. πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

